Beginner’s mind…

I offer online courses in order to delve more deeply into certain more subtle, philosophical or technical aspects of yoga that are difficult to cover in regular classes and even workshops. These courses are generally suitable for all who are keen to learn more about the living tradition of yoga that we are all part of, and who wish to take their yoga journey to a deeper level.

Current Courses Offered:

Four Week Online Course – ‘Exploring the Kleshas’
4 Consecutive Thursdays, 7-9pm – November 4th, 11th, 18th, 25th 2021.

Cost: the price of the course is £80 (includes reference materials and weekly home practice suggestions) and I also offer discounted options for those on lower incomes (£60 or £45). Please pay what you can honestly afford and all is gratefully received.

This course follows on from the recent ‘Exploring the Yamas’ and ‘Exploring the Niyamas’ and ‘Exploring the Eight Limbs of Yoga’ courses, to delve further into Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, one of the key ancient Sanskrit texts that describes the yogi’s path in depth.

In this course we delve further into Chapter 2 of the Sutras, which outlines the practical nature of the eight-fold yoga path. We look at the five ‘Kleshas’, or ‘mental afflictions’ that Patanjali states are the main impediments that stop us from progressing on the yoga path and keep us stuck, suffering and frustrated. In brief, these Kleshas are:

  • Avidya – spiritual ignorance; not fully understanding all that we are
  • Asmita – egotism
  • Raga – excessive desire
  • Dvesa – aversion
  • Abhinivesah – fear of death; clinging to life

For any dedicated yoga practitioner, at some point on our journey, it becomes clear that yoga is about much more than physical postures and full breathing. It is about becoming more conscious, enlightened and self-sovereign, empowered beings, not held prisoner by negative, unconscious behaviours. Over time, through growing self-awareness and self-study, both natural by-products of a sustained yoga practice, we make more and more of our unconscious behaviours conscious, and feel more and more empowered to shift ourselves positively, and feel more and more free. Yoga is ultimately a path towards self-liberation.

In this course you will learn about the five Kleshas as set out by Patanjali and, through self-reflection, will contemplate how they might be playing out in your life currently and holding you back. We will look at how we can use our yoga practice to gradually dissolve and move beyond each Klesha.  Each week you can expect a blend of themed physical postures, breath-work, mind-focusing meditation techniques and talks about the underlying philosophy of yoga, based on one (or two) of the Kleshas. Home practice suggestions and sometimes pertinent reference materials and links will be provided after each class.

Please get in touch via if you have any questions or would like to book onto the course. Advance payment secures your place.

%d bloggers like this: